Award for up-and-coming electricians

Under the patronage of the former Minister-President of Saarland, Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer and Peter und Luise Hager Foundation, the ‘Meister-Gründerpreis’ (Master Founder Award) was presented for the second time in Berlin on 7th November 2018. Kevin Breuer, Jannik Henken & Jan Liesche together with Steven Kolbe, were delighted to each receive a €10,000 prize.

Decisive factors in determining prize winners were; the successful financial development of the businesses, the commitment of the 'masters' to the development of employees, the promotion of training and state-of-the-art technical solutions and services.

The six-member panel also took into consideration the entrepreneurial spirit and social commitment of the candidates. “With the ‘Meister-Gründerpreis’Award, we want to reward the motivation behind the training that it takes to become a master electrician and the courage needed to become self-employed”, explained panel member and Peter und Luise Hager Foundation representative Gregor Wille.

Kevin Breuer. 28 years old with a master electrician's certificate since the beginning of 2018, founded BG Elektrotechnik GmbH & Co. KG in Ratekau, Schleswig-Holstein. His own boss, his company's services range from all kinds of electrical installations to street lighting and event power supply. Installing electric charging stations is also part of his portfolio.

Jannik Henken. After receiving his master electrician's certificate in February 2015, he decided to start his own business. The 26-year-old specialises in the renovation of old buildings in the Oldenburg area and in June 2016 took over an existing company, Elektro Jäger.

Jan Liesche (35) and Steven Kolbe (30). Together they set up Likosys GmbH in Berlin, a company which takes care of electrical systems for all types of industrial and commercial sites.

The four young men were delighted to receive the congratulations of the six-member panel and the Foundation's representative, as well as a video message from Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer. The award ceremony was held at the Saarland representative's chambers of the federal government’s Berlin offices.


The application round for the Meister-Gründerpreis 2020 as well as more details will be available soon. 


Meister 2016

The prize known as the ‘Master’ is awarded by the Peter und Luise Hager Foundation in cooperation with Hager Group with the aim of helping to acknowledge and encourage successful start-ups in the electrical trade. The belektro 2016 trade fair – a high-profile industry gathering in the German capital – provided a worthy setting for the prize-giving ceremony in the presence of numerous players from the industry. Established in 2016, the start-up prize for the German electrical trade known as the ‘Master’ is awarded by the Peter und Luise Hager Foundation once every two years in the form of three individual prizes of 10,000 Euro. Candidates are selected by jury of six members. Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer, Saarland’s Premier, is also the patron of the prize. The winners announced by the jury in 2016 were the companies run by Ronny Schröder (Elektros, Rechlin), Hanns-Lennart Klaper (Elektrotechnik Klaper, Aßlar) and Candy Kujat (Gebäude- und Systemtechnik, Potsdam). The deciding factors for the award included the successful economic development of each company, the commitment of the three ‘Masters’ to employee development and the promotion of training, along with the modern technical solutions and services provided by the companies. However, an equally strong emphasis was placed on the community spirit and social engagement demonstrated by each of the companies.

Photos ©

Award ceremony 2018 in Berlin

Patronage 2016 and 2018

Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer, former Minister-President of the Saarland

This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to deliver the best possible web experience. By continuing and using the site, you consent to the use of cookies.
To control, disable or delete cookies, please use your browser settings. More about our cookies policy.